LONDON EVENTS – Sutton House Christmas

hanna-melin-s-1

A Christmas Market in a Magical Setting with Pantomime Adventures

Each weekend from Saturday 26th November – Sunday 18th December 2016

Noon – 5pm 

Address: Sutton House and Breaker’s Yard, 2 & 4 Homerton High Street, Hackney, London E9 6JQ. Tel. 020 8986 2264.

Nearest tube: Hackney Central

Sutton House Christmas is a brand new, special seasonal event featuring a spectacular pantomime-themed Christmas market in a magical setting that will run each weekend from Noon to 5pm from Saturday 26th November to Sunday 18th December.

The unique concept has been created to tie in with Sutton House’s book-themed events in 2016 and will feature Playful Pantomime rooms and Surreal Santa’s Sleigh.

City Showcase: Markets, curators of Embankment Summer Market, Soho Flea Market and Dalston Christmas Market, are creating a Christmas market inside the National Trust’s Tudor manor in Homerton High Street, Hackney, London, featuring designer stalls and high quality food and drink vendors. The National Trust will also host entertainment on certain evenings including carol performances, film previews, local theatre productions and more.

Offering a vibrant alternative to the more traditional ‘German style’ Christmas market with a handpicked selection of artisans, artists, fashion and jewellery designers, ceramicists, and card makers, Sutton House aims to attract a mix of boutique shoppers and families looking for a fun day out. The magnificent Tudor house provides the perfect setting for the pantomime themed Christmas event combined with the opportunity to find original and quality Christmas gifts.

Stallholders include Ailsigr https://www.ailsigr.co.uk creating beautiful, tactile and meaningful jewellery; Anna Wiscombe http://annawiscombe.com making imaginative wooden wall birds, meadow flyers, and jewellery; Awani https://awani.com tropical fruit preserves winning a Guild of Fine Food UK and Great Taste Award in 2015; Hackney based Cafe SoVegan https://www.facebook.com/CafeSoVegan/ handmade cakes, chocolates, sauces and vegan meat free products; Gaby Gassner https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/TheJewelleryFactory contemporary beaded jewellery; Hanna Melin http://www.hannamelin.com is an East London illustrator and maker of prints and badges; Jinny Ngui Design http://www.jinnyngui-design.com/products creates ceramic design inspired by London’s rich cultural mix; Quiet Rebellion https://www.quietrebellion.com brightly coloured socks as featured in The Gentleman’s Journal, The Times, GQ and The Daily Telegraph; Louise Mulgrew Designs http://louisemulgrew.com Brighton based greetings card illustrator; Miss Knit Nat http://www.missknitnat.com producer of luxury knitted British lambswool accessories including snoods, scarves and headbands; Nonya Secrets https://www.nonyasecrets.com jars of spicy Singaporean sauces taken from family recipes: Snapdragon Designs http://www.snapdragondesigns.co.uk quirky acrylic jewellery designs based on fairy tales; The Speculaas Spice Co http://www.speculaasspice.co.uk Dutch spicy speculaas biscuits; The Crooked Style http://www.thecrookedstyle.com digital prints and hand painted jewellery, cards, picture frames and boxes; The Dirt Creative http://www.thedirtcreative.com handmade apothecary soaps; Washed Up http://www.washedupdesign.co.uk handmade, tableware inspired by the British coast, Woven Form http://www.wovenform.com beautiful quality handwoven textiles; Arganic http://www.arganic.co.uk producer of argan oil products, based on the strong antioxidant; Washed Up Designs http://www.washedupdesign.co.uk beautifully handmade, British Coast themed, local design studio Glebe Road Studios; fun and cheeky prints by Basil & Ford http://www.basilandford.com/; freelance artist, photographer and designer-maker Roderick Barker-Benfield also known as Roderick Vere http://roderickvere.com/; Chilpa http://www.chilpa.co.uk/ stunning Mexican scarves and pachminas; Imagination Illustrated http://www.imaginationillustrated.com/ textile products inspired by animals and nature; Essemgé http://www.essemge.com/ beautiful customisable jewellery; Ladybird Likes http://www.ladybirdlikes.com/ fun and quirky jewellery, Romney Marsh Wools http://romneymarshwools.co.uk/ A pure, natural and timeless collection of luxury British wool products; Daniela Sigurd http://danielasigurdjewellery.bigcartel.com/ fantastic jewellery designed and handmade in east London; Lorna Syson http://lornasyson.co.uk/ beautiful homeware that represents the British outdoors; Promises Promises http://promisespromises.bigcartel.com/ intelligently designed jewellery; Divine Child Designs https://www.etsy.com/shop/DivineChildDesigns Afro-centric children’s clothing and matching accessories; Riddell Doodles https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/RiddellDoodles intricate cityscape hand drawn designs and fabulous food from What The Dickens https://whatthedickensfood.com.

Local stallholders also include Gilly B, BG Designs, Tiff Howick, and Jenni Allen.

Sutton House will be transformed into a winter wonderland with each room representing a timeless pantomime theme; the rooms will be dressed accordingly and include live action characters. Themes include Jack & The Beanstalk, Dick Whittington, Puss In Boots, Hansel and Gretel, Goldilocks, Snow White, Alice In Wonderland, The Beauty and The Beast, Peter Pan, Sleeping Beauty, Cinderella, Robin Hood, and Wizard Of Oz.

Installation artist Kirsty Harris and Sutton House’s community groups will be enchanting the halls, chambers and cellars with fragments of timeless pantomime and fairy stories relating to Sutton House’s 500 years of history from a Tudor knight to 1980’s punk squatters. Fancifully costumed play expert volunteers will help bring the stories to life and piece together the pantos for visitors. Cheering choirs and playful performances of Beauty and the Beast will entertain throughout.

The icing on the Christmas cake will be the opportunity for children to meet Santa in his very curious grotto, a double decker caravan complete with a historical palace interior. Discover what makes reindeer fly and receive a gift.

Sutton House is located in Hackney Central, home to Hackney Fashion Hub, Hackney Empire, St John at Hackney Church, and the iconic Broadway Market. Hackney Central has emerged as a top city location to find budding artists, creatives and craftspeople.

City Showcase, the not-for-profit organisation, supports and nurtures new creatives from all disciplines. They look to feature high quality, distinctive, talented and quirky designers, showcasing their products alongside top quality Street Food and live entertainment.

Nanette Rigg, Founding Director of City Showcase said. ‘We are delighted to be invited back by Sutton House to the London Borough of Hackney to curate a very special Christmas market in the Pantomime themed interior of one of London’s most impressive National Trust properties. The success of our Embankment Summer Market event in July, which saw crowds in excess of 30,000 in attendance over the weekend, proved that carefully curated boutique market events supporting new creative businesses are supremely relevant and offer a credible alternative to the corporate world of high street shopping.”

Admission to Sutton House Christmas is £5.50 adults, £2.75 children. Under 5s and National Trust Members Free. Family Ticket Available. Father Christmas, story and present £2.

 

If you would like to get involved in Sutton House Christmas, please visit the City Showcase: Markets website www.cityshowcasemarkets.com or email talent@cityshowcase.co.uk

Advertisements